How to delete your Discord account
Vector illustration of a heart shape on a speech bubble. Cut out design element for social media platforms, online messaging apps, Internet and technology, Internet dating, business and marketing, global communications and connections.

How to delete your Discord account

If you plan to delete your Discord account, there are steps to do so. Make sure you want to remove it first. There is also information for this if you are trying to delete a Discord account for a loved one who has died. Getting rid of your Discord account is very easy.

Have you had enough of Discord? Or do you want to remove it entirely because you spend too much time on it? Say no more, as we’ll get you there in just a few steps.

Delete Discord account

For those who start a particular group or server in Discord, there is an additional step before deleting your account. Your Discord friends will probably be upset if you delete the active servers. Therefore, before deleting your account, decide whether to transfer the servers you own to another owner instead of deleting them. However, as a server owner, you owe it to active server groups not to delete them without warning.

Once you are sure your servers have transferred ownership or can be removed, click on “User Settings.” You can do this in a browser or your desktop app. You will see the “My Account” option in your settings; Click on it. In this menu, select “Edit” to go to the deletion. When you saw “Delete account,” you found the right point. Click the button and follow all the incoming prompts filling in your account information as requested. This doesn’t mean all data is instantly lost, but Discord will do the deletion soon. Once you enter your password, your account will be deleted entirely, but always remember that you can create a new one.

Discord also offers the option to disable your account instead of deleting it. A disabled version can be recovered at any later time. You will also stop receiving notifications about the disabled statement. Please note that if you exceed the grace period after choosing to delete your account, there will be no refund.

Delete Discord account for someone who has passed away

If you need to delete a deceased person’s Discord account, you can first try using the username and password, if available. You’ll probably need to contact Discord directly to delete someone else’s account. Discord recommends calling if you have a question that the Help Center doesn’t cover. The Discord support team should contact you immediately to resolve the issue and inform you of their actions regarding all servers and memberships owned by your loved ones.

FAQ on how to delete your Discord account

What happens when you delete your Discord account?

Discord renames your messages when you delete your account as “deleted user,” and your account appears anonymous. The news you send stays, keeping the flow of group conversations and direct private messages.

How long will it take before Discord deletes your account?

Discord doesn’t disclose how long it takes to delete your account, which may change.

How do you delete a Discord server?

The owner of a server selects “server settings” and “remove server” to remove it. Users who do not own the server cannot delete it.

Can I delete my account by email?

[email protected], you can write “personal data request” with the subject and explain in the body section that you want to delete your account.

Can you temporarily disable a discord account?

Yes, you can reactivate your account.

Conclusion on deleting a Discord account

As you can see, deleting the Discord account is extremely simple. The best part about deleting your account is that you can always create a report if you need to use it again. By any chance, if you change your mind, you can continually improve your Discord experience by learning how to make Discord emotes.

Leave a Reply